Annual Leadership Awards: PMB,Jonathan, Jega bag “Leadership Persons of the year 2015” Award

President Muhammadu Buhari together with his predecessor, Former President Goodluck Jonathan and the former Chairman of Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, Prof Attahiru Jega havebeen honoured with the “Leadership Persons of the Year 2015” award.

This was in acknowledgement of their selfless and outstanding role in the peaceful conduct and conclusion of the  2015 general election.

leadership award
President Muhammadu Buhari ,Former President Goodluck Jonathan and former INEC, Chairman, Prof Attahiru Jega

The awards which was organized by The Leadership Newspaper group, stands to recognize personalities who have played outstanding roles in entrenching and improving Nigeria’s democracy, especially for their role in the 2015 elections.

In his address, Sam Nda-Isaiah of The Leadership Newspaper Group, commended the awardees for standing for the nation at a time when mischief makers choose to declare war on the cooperate existence of Nigeria.

“Jonathan lost election and won at the same time by doing what no other president in the history of Nigeria has done.” he said

He also acknowledged the feet achieved by President Buhari saying, “PMB’s victory also changed presidential politics in Nigeria forever.”


While president Buhari was be honoured for making history as the first opposition candidate to defeat a sitting president after three attempts, Jonathan was being recognised for achieving the improbable and for conceding defeat in an election in which he was a contestant – a first for Nigeria, and the former INEC boss, Jega was honored for his courage, doggedness and fairness even in the face of threats to his life in the conduct of the 2015 elections, a feat he achieved to global acclaim.

Others honoured at the annual award are speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara and Gombe State governor, Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo, as LEADERSHIP Politician and Governor of the Year respectively.

Thirteen other individuals and organisations  also received awards at the event.  They include the former Managing Director/CEO of Bank of Industry (BOI), Mr Rasheed Adejare Olaoluwa and chairman of Honeywell Group, Oba Otudeko, Mr Boboye Oyeyemi, the Corp Marshal/CEO of Federal Road Safety Commission (FRSC), Managing Director of Intelsat Nigeria Limited, Mr Simone Volpi and the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN)

Others are Dangote Cement, Heritage Bank, Access Bank, SystemSpecs, Zenith Bank, Chibok Girls, the Golden Eaglets and the rave of the moment artiste, Mr Korede Bello.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button