Atiku Grasp PDP 2019 Presidential Ticket

Former Vice President  and Waziri Adamawa  Atiku Abubakar has won the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) Presidential ticket for the 2019 general elections.

Abubakar won the poll with 1532 votes out of the total 3221 votes cast by 36 states and FCT.

The result was announced by Sen. Ifeanyi Okowa, Chairman PDP 2018 Special National Convention Planning Committee, at the end of the party’s convention on Sunday in Port Harcourt.

In the results announced by Okowa, Gov. Aminu Tambuwal followed Atiku with 693 votes, while Sen. Bukola Saraki placed third with 317 votes.

Others include: Sen. Rabiu Kwankwaso 158 votes; Gov. Ibrahim Dankwambo 111 votes; Sule Lamido 96 votes and Ahmed Makarfi 74 votes.

The rest are: Tanimu Turaki 65 votes; Attahiru Bafarawa 48 votes; Sen. David Mark 35 votes; Jonah Jang 19 votes; while Datti Ahmed got 5 votes.

The total votes cast were 3221, while delegates accredited were 3,274 and the voided votes stood at 68.

Born November  25, 1946, in Jada, Adamawa state, Atiku served as vice-president of Nigeria from 1999 to 2007, on the platform of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), with Olusegun Obasanjo as President.

Abubakar worked with the Nigeria Customs Service for twenty years, rising to become the Deputy Director, the second highest position in the Service, then. He retired in April 1989 and took up full-time business and politics.

Abubakar contested for the APC presidential ticket in 2015 and came third behind Muhammadu Buhari and Rabiu Kwankwaso.

He recently defected to the PDP from the APC to enable him to realise his ambition to become the president of Nigeria.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button