JUST IN: Senate Confirms President Buhari’s 15 INEC REC …


Nigeria Senate Logo

The Nigerian senate has confirmed 15 of the 27  resident electoral commissioners (RECs) of the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC)  sent by President Muhammadu Buhari in March.

This followed the adoption of the report submitted by Sen. Suleiman M. Nazif, who chairs the Committee of the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Nazif said that the remaining 12 nominees were still undergoing screening though all the 27 have been cleared by the security agencies.

President Buhari had sent  the 27 REC nominees to the Senate for confirmation in compliance with section 14(3)(a) of the third schedule to the 1999 constitution as amended. NAN

The Confirmed nominees

/N Names States
1 Godswill Obioma Abia
2 Ahmed Makama Bauchi
3 James Apam Benue
4 Nwachukwu Orji Ebonyi
5 Iloh Chuks Enugu
6 Nentawe Yilwada Plateau
7 Umar Ibrahim Taraba
8 Emeka Joseph Imo
9 Obo Effanga Cross River
10 Francis Ezeonu Anambra
11 Briyai Frankland Bayelsa
12 Ibrahim Abdullahi Adamawa
13 Agboke Olaleke Ogun
14 Hussaini Pai FCT
15 Sadiq Musa Kaduna

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button