Justice Amina Augie & Justice Ejembi Eko Sworn in as Supreme Court Justices.



Supreme Court
Supreme Court

The Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Mahmud Mohammed on Monday 7th of November swore in Justice Amina A Augie and Justice Ejembi Eko as members of the Supreme Court bench after their appointment by President Buhari was approved by the Nigerian Senate.

This brings to 13 the number of Supreme Court justices in Nigeria. Of the 17, 3 retired whilst 2 have been suspended. The CJN himself is due to retire shortly after an illustrious career.

The CJN that the two new Supreme Court Justices, Amina  Augie and Ejembi Eko, joined the apex court “at a time when there are a lot of challenges.”
and stressed that it was important to preserve the public’s confidence in the judiciary.

He stated: “I therefore wish to state without fear of contradict that the Third Arm of Government will remain resolute in its commitment and resolve to uphold its independence and to adjudicate with utmost fairness and Justice as prescribed in our constitution and the law.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button