Profile: Meet New INEC Chairman, Professor Mahmood Yakubu

Professor Mahmood Yakubu, New INEC Chairman
Professor Mahmood Yakubu, New INEC Chairman

The Council of State on Wednesday 21 October 2015 approved the appointment of Professor Mahmood Yakubu as the new Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

This was at the emergency meeting of the Council of State presided by President Muhammadu Buhari at the Presidential Villa Abuja.

Prof. Yakubu is a Professor of Political History and International Studies. He is an Expert in Guerrilla Warfare, Terrorism and Counter Terrorism.

He graduated with a First Class Honours Degree in History at the Usman Danfodiyo University Sokoto. He also bagged a Doctor of Philosophy Degree with specialization in Nigerian History at the University of Oxford in 1991.

In 2007, Professor Yakubu was appointed the Executive Secretary of the Education Trust Fund (ETF) now known as Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) in a bid to reposition its intervention towards achieving greater goals.

He was on secondment at the Nigeria Defense Academy where he was a lecturer. Professor Mahmood Yakubu hails from Bauchi State.

Also the Council confirmed the appointments of 5 National Commissioners: Mrs. Amina Zakari (North West); Dr Antonia Taiye Okoosi-Simbime (North Central); Alhaji Baba Shettima Arfo (North East); Dr.Mohammed Mustapha Lekki (South South); and Mr Soyebi Adedeji Solomon (South West).

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button