Ekiti Governorship Polls: Fayose Wins; Fayemi Concedes

The Chief Returning Officer of Ekiti State Gubernatorial Election, Prof. Isaac Uzoma Asuzu at the early hours of Sunday, 21st June 2014 declared the former Governor of Ekiti State, Peter Ayo Fayose as the winner of the 2014 Governorship election.



 Peter Ayo Fayose                                Dr. Kayode Fayemi

The summary of the result as released by INEC reveals that the candidate of the PDP, Peter Ayo Fayose won in all the LGAs of Ekiti State with a total of 203,090 votes which represents 56.34% of the total valid votes cast while his APC counterpart and incumbent governor, Dr. Kayode Fayemi came far 2nd with 120,433 votes representing 33.41% of total valid votes cast.


This declaration has so far attracted a lot of positive commentaries ranging from congratulatory messages for the winner and praises for the incumbent governor for  uncommon courage in   accepting defeat; a fit unheard of in Nigerian politics.


Gov. Kayode Fayemi in conceding to the winner Ayo Fayose, said the result of the election represent the wish of Ekiti people and he is ready to abide by the people’s wish.

Meanwhile the Governor-elect has been advised to be magnanimous in victory by closing ranks with other contestants in other to give Ekiti State a people oriented leadership.

President Jonathan in congratulating Fayose, urged Governor elect to be humble and magnanimous as he forms an administration that will work for the advancement of Ekiti state irrespective of political affiliations or loyalties.


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button