Six Nigerians Becomes MP in the UK

Six British-Nigerian candidates have been elected to the Parliament in the just concluded UK elections.
Reports say , Chi Onwurah (Labour MP for Newcastle Central and West), Kemi Badenoch (Saffron Walden), Kate Osamor (Edmonton), Florence Eshalomi (Vauxhall and Camberwell Green), Taiwo Owatemi (Coventry North West), as well as Bayo Alaba (Southend East and Rochford) all won their respective seats.
In the past, other Nigerian-British politicians have also made history in UK politics. Helen Grant, a British-Nigerian politician, became the first African-born Conservative MP in 2010.
This latest crop of Nigerian-British MPs joins a growing list of trailblazers who are making a significant impact in UK politics.
The successful candidates have been praised for their hard work and dedication to their constituencies, and are expected to bring a unique perspective to the House of Commons.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Back to top button